European Society for Virology

bullet point   European Virology Award (EVA)

European Virology Award (EVA)

The European Virology Award is given to individuals who have made exceptional contributions of great theoretical and/or practical importance in the field of virology. This award recognizes top scientific achievements with far-reaching implications for plant, animal or human health and is presented every three years during the European Congress of Virology.

Nominations are made by the Awards Coommittee (presently chaired by Professor Richard M. Elliott, Centre for Biomolecular Sciences, School of Biology, University of St Andrews, St Andrews ) and confirmed by the ESV Executive Board.



Ari Helenius, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

was honoured on September 13, 2013 at the Fifth European Congress of Virology in Lyon, France, for his outstanding achievements in the field of virus entry research


Peter Palese, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, USA

was honoured on April 20, 2010 at the Fourth European Congress of Virology in Cernobbio, Italy, for his groundbreaking work on influenza viruses


Jean Lindenmann, University of Zürich, Switzerland

was honoured on September 2, 2007 for his 1957 discovery of interferons (together with Alick Isaacs) during the Third European Congress of Virology in Nuremberg, Germany

link see Nature 449, 126 (13 September 2007)

Obituary to Jean Lindenmann


Disclaimer | Imprint